Monday, 20 June 2011

Earth Story Box Set Released Today

Today sees the release of the mixed Doctor box set Earth Story, which features stories from both the First and Fifth Doctors in the form of The Gunfighters (1966) and The Awakening (1984).

 The Gunfighters
The 1966 story has the First Doctor visiting the town of Tombstone where he attempts to locate a dentist and gets caught up in the feud between Doc Holliday and the Clanton family. The story is written by Donald Cotton and alongside William Hartnell features Jackie Lane as Dodo, Peter Purves as Steven Taylor, Anthony Jacobs as Doc Holliday, William Hurndall as Ike Clanton, Laurence Payne as Johnny Ringo and Sheena Marshe as Kate. It features the voice of Lynda Baron

Extras Include

•End of the Line: Documentary
•Tomorrow's Times, The First Doctor

The Awakening
An alien war machine, the Malus, is affecting the inhabitants of the English country village of Little Hodcombe in 1984 so that a re-enactment of a Civil War battle turns into the real thing. Originally shown in 1984 the story written by Eric Pringle stars Peter Davison as The Doctor, Janet Fielding as Tegan, Mark Strickson as Turlough, Frederick Hall as Andrew Verney, Glyn Houston as Colonel Wolsey, Polly James as Jane Hampden, Denis Lill as Sir George and Keith Jayne as Will Chandler.

Extras include

•On the Cutting Room Floor
•Kamelion deleted scene
•Barry Newbury - Designer: Documentary
•Location Footage
•Now and Then

The set has an RRP of £16.99 though prices will vary depending on where you pick it up.

No comments:

Post a Comment